An Interview With Henry Hargreaves

For those of you who frequent this blog, you may remember my recent post about Mr. Henry Hargreaves and his delicious Bacon Alphabet entitled, Henry Hargreaves is Finger Lickin’ Good. Within this post I plead for Henry to please tell us more about himself so we can bask in his glories. Well, ask and you shall receive. Henry was kind enough to answer some of my burning questions that I think you will find very interesting regarding his inspiration and upcoming projects. Ladies and gentleman, I have the pleasure to introduce, Mr. Henry Hargreaves.
_
Nicole: I’d like to begin by saying that I’m a big fan and it’s a pleasure to find out more about you. Where are you originally from and how did you end up settling in Brooklyn?
_
Henry: I’m from New Zealand. After University I went traveling with no goal in mind just to see more of the world than I had ever seen in our little corner of the Pacific. I fell into modelling and spent a good deal of time working in all the usual fashion cities – Milan, London, Paris, Tokyo etc and for me NY just blew them all away. People were positive and open to new ideas, there wasn’t some archaic class system and they loved my accent so this was where I was to move. Then within NY Williamsburg, Brooklyn was my favorite neighborhood, its like living in the coolest small town but you’re only 10min from the center of Manhattan.
_
Nicole: When did you realize you wanted to go from in front of the camera to behind it?
_
Henry: I never felt that secure being a model. I always felt like I was lucky, right look at the right time. I hated not having any direct control of my career and I wanted to be the one who is guiding the shoots and responsible for how it turns out. I began quizzing the assistants about cameras, lighting, and modifiers then went and brought my own gear and started shooting the models I was working with.
_
_
Nicole: What is your creative process when approaching a new piece or idea?
_
Henry: I try to shoot purely things that I think would be cool to see. I quite literally sit down with my note book which I have a ton of random concepts and start with an idea and develop it until I think it could work. I then have the image in my head I’m trying to create, try to articulate this to my team and then see where we get to on the shoot allowing for room for experimentation and flexibility.
_
_
_
Nicole: As we’ve all heard, “A photo is worth a thousand words” – Well, how much time and preparation goes into each one of your masterpieces? (I’m not really expecting a thousand word response)
_
Henry: I’m not afraid to fail while trying to do something different. I basically take my idea, get the props for the shoot and we try to make it happen on the fly. I’m a little impatient and want to see results fast, then refine it. I had a recent shoot that didn’t work out with glow in the dark flowers, but I’m not upset that it didn’t work, I’d be upset if i didn’t try it.
_
_
Nicole: Each of your series is very different, yet they each hold a common stylist thread. How would you describe your very unique style to someone who is unfamiliar to your work?
_
Henry: That’s because they reflect my taste. I basically create concepts I would like to be asked to shoot and do them myself. When asked to define my style I usually mumble around a few things like ‘conceptual and fun still life’ which sounds so pretentious and end up resorting to ‘just google me and check my site.’
_
_
Nicole: If there is one thing you would like readers to walk away knowing about you or your work, Mr. Henry Mystery, what would it be?
_
Henry: I just hope you get as much of a kick out of my work as I do.
_
Nicole: What can we expect to see next, Henry Hargreaves?
_
Henry: I have a new book coming out in about 2 weeks. It’s a follow up to last year’s 3DD – A 3D celebration of breasts, its called 3DD Deluxe! You can check it out at www.3-dd.com Beyond that keep an eye on my site, and my new site very soon! I’m doing something over the next couple of days that I think will be very cool, I don’t want to give too much away but it is based on public transport…
_
2 Responses

Got something to say?

